This post is also available in: German

Vanilla crescents belong to every Christmas season in Germany. Therefore every year I make dozens of  baking trays with these delicious traditional Christmas cookies. The reason is grandma Gerda’s recipe. It is proven they are so delicious that noone can ever get enough of them! Till today I kept the secret of her recipe but now I will reveal it to you.

Vanilla crescents always make me smile!

Grandma Gerda wasn’t my real grandmother after all. Still she was my Grandma. We moved to Bad Zwischenahn in the north of Germany when I was three years old. There we lived next to a family with two girls that were my age respectively two years younger than me. Till today we are best friends, virtual sisters.

Dipped in bourbon vanilla

This chosen kinship counted  not only for my best friend but also for her relatives. Her uncles and aunts see me as their nieces and her grandparents saw me as her virtual grandchild. Therefore I had also been enjoying Grandma Gerda’s vanilla crescents since I was a little girl.

Grandma Gerda inherited the recipe from her mother who had gotten it from her mum. Every year she had sent a huge package with Christmas cookies including a big can of vanilla crescents. When I was five I once raided the whole can. I was convinced that it would still look full from the top if you leave a few of the cookies on the bottom. But you can imagine that this didn’t work out! I was busted!

Every year a hit!

So I made up for that when I was a teenager and knew how to make them myself. In the middle of August, though.
The whole house smelled of vanilla crescents while there were 30 degrees Celsius outside. I had drawn the curtains and lit candles to make it all look like the real Christmas tradition! This is a popular family story till today!

These vanilla crescents just make you happy!

 

The great thing about that recipe is that you just need a few ingredients. All it takes is flour, sugar, crushed almonds, butter, baking soda and vanilla sugar.

You will find the right proportions in our recipes. 

Rezept drucken
Vanilla crescents - the ultimate do it yourself recipe
Prep Time 10 min
Cook Time 12-15 min
Passive Time 45 min
Servings
crescents
Ingredients
Prep Time 10 min
Cook Time 12-15 min
Passive Time 45 min
Servings
crescents
Ingredients
Instructions
  1. Pour all ingredients - except the butter - into a bowl and mix them well.
  2. Add the supersoft butter (you can melt it in a bowl in the oven at 50 degrees Celsius) and use an electric mixer first before you kneed the dough with your hands until it has a homogeneous consistency.
  3. Form the dough into a ball or two, wrap them into aluminum foil and put the dough in the fridge for 45 min.
  4. After 45 min take the dough out of the fridge, form 3 cm thick sausages and cut them into 1 cm thick slices. Turn the oven on to 175 degrees Celsius recirculating air.
  5. Form the slices into balls, the balls into small sausage and bend them into crescents. Put them on an oven tray which is covered with baking paper. Put the tray into the hot oven and bake them until the tips of the crescents are brown. (12-15 min). Take crescents out of the oven and let them cool for a couple of minutes.
  6. Pour the bourbon vanilla sugar into a wide bowl. Dip each crescents into the sugar until the whole crescents is covered. I put the crescents into the bowl and kind of scoop the sugar on top. Then I place one g´hand underneath with my fingers slightly spread and shake the sugar off.
  7. Put sugared crescents on a plate and let them cool down completely. Only when they are completely cool, put them in a tin or glass container with a lid.
  8. Enjoy!
Share this Recipe

Of course I have developed my own personal way of making the crescents. But this I will not reveal after all.

Author

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This post is also available in: Englisch

Vanillekipferl gehören jedes Jahr zur Weihnachtszeit dazu. Kurz bevor die Adventszeit anfängt, backe ich daher Dutzende von Blechen von diesem köstlichen Gebäck. Denn: das Rezept von meiner Oma Gerda ist nachweislich so lecker, das niemand genug davon bekommen kann! Bisher habe ich es streng gehütet, doch nun gebe ich es hiermit weiter.

Vanillekipferl, hurra!

Oma Gerda war eigentlich gar nicht meine richtige Oma. Aber sie war es eben doch. Als ich drei Jahre alt war, zogen wir nach Bad Zwischenahn. Dort wohnten wir neben einer Familie mit zwei Töchtern, die genauso alt beziehungsweise zwei Jahre jünger waren als ich. Bis heute sind wir beste Freundinnen, quasi Schwestern.

Gewälzt in Bourbon Vanille!

Und dieses gewählte Verwandtschaftsverhältnis galt und gilt nicht nur für meine beste Freundin sondern auch für alle anderen innerhalb ihrer Familie. Ihre Onkel und Tanten sehen mich als ihre quasi-Nichte und ihre Großeltern sahen mich als ihre quasi-Enkelin an. Dadurch aß ich auch von klein auf jedes Jahr die göttlichen Vanillekipferl ohne Ei von Oma Gerda.

Oma Gerda hatte das Rezept von ihrer Mutter geerbt, die es wiederum von ihrer Mutter hatte. Jedes Jahr schickte sie ein Paket mit Köstlichkeiten zu Weihnachten inklusive einer großen Dose ihrer Vanillekipferl. Als Fünfjährige plünderte ich dann einmal die ganze Keksdose. Ich war der Meinung, sie würde voll aussehen, wenn man von oben hineinschaute, solange ein paar auf dem Boden waren. Das das nicht aufging, könnt Ihr Euch ja denken! Ich wurde erwischt!

Einer von vielen von mir gebackenen Kipferltellern!

Also machte ich das wieder gut, als ich als Teenager selbst mit dem Weihnachtsbacken anfing. Allerdings mitten im August. Das ganze Haus roch nach Vanillekipferln bei 30 Grad Außentemperatur. Die Gardinen hatte ich zugezogen, Kerzen angezündet und eine Weihnachtsatmosphäre geschaffen. Wenn schon denn schon. Bis heute ist das natürlich eine beliebte Familiengeschichte zu Weihnachten!

Köstlich zum Tee, Kaffee oder auch Whiskey!

Das Tolle an dem Rezept ist, dass es mit ganz wenigen Zutaten auskommt. Alles was Du dazu brauchst ist Mehl, Zucker, gemahlene Mandeln, Vanillezucker, Backpulver und Butter. Die genauen Mengenverhältnisse verrate ich Euch in unseren Rezepten.

Rezept drucken
Vanillekipferl-das ultimative Rezept zum Selbermachen
Vorbereitung 15 min
Kochzeit 15 min
Wartezeit 45 min
Portionen
Kipferl
Zutaten
Vorbereitung 15 min
Kochzeit 15 min
Wartezeit 45 min
Portionen
Kipferl
Zutaten
Anleitungen
  1. Alle Zutaten bis auf die Butter in einer großen Schüssel vermengen. Die Butter währenddessen bei 50 Grad in einer Schale in den Ofen stellen bis sie geschmolzen ist.Die geschmolzene Butter etwas abkühlen lassen und zu den Zutaten dazugeben.
  2. Alles gut mit einem elektrischen Knethaken verrühren. Anschließend den Teig aus der Schüssel nehmen und mit den Händen weiterkneten bis ein geschmeidiger Teig entsteht.
  3. Teig zu einer Kugel formen, in Alufolie einwickeln und für 45 min in den Kühlschrank geben.
  4. Fertigen Teig zu rund 3 cm dicken Würsten formen. Die Würste in 1 cm dicke Scheiben schneiden.
  5. Aus den Scheiben Kugeln und aus den Kugeln kleine Würste und schließlich Kipferl formen. Kipferl auf einem mit Backpapier ausgelegtem Backblech auslegen und bei 175 Grad Umluft im vorgeheizten Ofen für rund 12-15 Minuten backen bis die Spitzen der Kipferl gebräunt sind.
  6. Kipferl kurz abkühlen lassen. Den Vanillezucker in einen tiefen Teller geben. Die (unbedingt!) noch warmen Kipferl darin wenden.
  7. Kipferl zum Abkühlen auf einem großen Teller oder einer Platte anordnen. Die Kipferl erst in einen geschlossen Behälter geben, wenn sie komplett abgekühlt sind, sonst werden sie matschig.
  8. Guten Appetit!
Dieses Rezept teilen
Natürlich habe ich noch eine ganz besondere Art entwickelt, wie ich „meine“ Vanillekipferl backe. Aber das verrate ich nun doch nicht.

Author

Write A Comment