This post is also available in: German

Cooking unplugged could be everything: broiling, baking stick bread or – as at the Duke restaurant inside the Ellington Hotel in Berlin – high cuisine! We tried it out and were surprised about the delicious creations by head chef  Florian Glauert who together with the fantastic head chefs Markus Semmler, Ben Pommer, Thomas Imbusch and the brothers Eggert came up with an artful and exquisite menu!

*advert due to product and location placement – unpaid!

cooking UNPLUGGED – the concept

Cooking differently
Us at the courtyard of the Ellington

Everything is allowed that doesn’t need electricity. Broiled, smoked, baked in a burrow or marinated. That aroused our curiosity of course! Of course we knew head chef Florian Glauert due to his wonderful asparagus tips, he had given us but at the cooking unplugged event at the restaurant Duke inside the Ellington Hotel in Berlin he showed the whole range of his skills. Him and Markus Semmler of Kochkunst Ereignisse Ben Pommer from BRLO Brwohouse and Thomas Imbusch from 100200Kitchen as well as the brothers Eggert were responsible for an unusual menu. We found that a great idea! Even when the weather was bad and we had to move inside form the inner courtyard the concept was still a success. No wonder! Even if electricity wasn’t allowed the results were delicious!

The Menu

A team of head chefs!
Delicious dish by the brothers Eggert

We had expected simple dishes but what was served was the total opposite.

Das team of Florian Lauert, Markus Semmler, Ben Pommer, Thomas Imbusch and the brothers Eggert combined ingredients that we wouldn’t have thought of by no stretch of imagination!

 

 

The menu
The menu

Ben Pommer combined cabbage turnip with ricotta, peppercress,bergamot and mustard pickle.

Markus Semmler was responsible for scallop with largo, chanterelles and chive.

Whereas Thomas Imbusch created a dish of potatoes, butter, chive and beef heart.

The brothers Eggert chose fried beet with raspberries and meadow lamb.

Florian Glauert created the dessert made of crop, honey, rhubarb, flowers, Mieze Schindler, egg and lemon.And vegetarians also got their share. In addition exquisite wine were served adjacent to the dishes.We realized with how much love this cooking unplugged concept was implemented which we clearly enjoyed!

the highlights

the dessert
a cooking unplugged table

It is hard to speak of highlights if each and every dish is so delicious! But the dessert still had that special something for us.

As rhubarb and chocolate cake fans we loved Florian Glauert’s creation decorated with mint and strawberries. So yummy!

On top the Duke restaurant had set the tables in a lovingly rustic and cozy style which gave a homy touch to the evening. Perfect for the cooking unplugged concept.

cooking unplugged – our conclusion

team spirit at the Duke!

We loved that a high class restaurant such as the Duke decided to think outside of the box. These new suggestions and ideas might also be something to think about at home!

Of course it won’t be the last time that the Duke will have such a special  event. “Just” to cook is never enough for Florian Glauert and his team! This you can see by means of the numerous special cooking events of the  Duke. Try it out, it’s worth it!

 

Author

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This post is also available in: Englisch

Cooking unplugged kann eigentlich alles sein: grillen, Stockbrot backen oder – wie im Duke des Hotel Ellington in Berlin- Haute Cuisine der Extraklasse! Wir haben es ausprobiert und waren überrascht über die köstlichen Kreationen von Chefkoch Florian Glauert, der zusammen mit anderen großartigen Chefkochs wie Markus Semmler, Ben Pommer, Thomas Imbusch und den Gebrüdern Eggert ein raffiniertes Menü gezaubert hat!

*Werbung wegen Marken- und Ortsnennung/unbezahlt!

cooking UNPLUGGED – das konzept

Kochen einmal anders
Wir im Innenhof des Ellington

Erlaubt ist alles, was keinen Strom braucht! Es wird gegrillt, geräuchert, im Erdloch gegart und mariniert. Das hat uns natürlich neugierig gemacht. Chefkoch Florian Glauert kannten wir ja bereits dank seiner tollen Spargeltipps, aber beim Cooking unplugged Event des Restaurant Duke im Ellington Hotel in Berlin zeigte sich erst die ganze Bandbreite seines Könnens. Dort wurde unter seiner Führung und der von Markus Semmler von Kochkunst Ereignisse sowie Ben Pommer von BRLO Brwohouse , Thomas Imbusch von 100200Kitchen und den Gebrüdern Engert ein außergewöhnliches Menü kreiert. Eine tolle Idee, wie wir fanden! Selbst wenn das Wetter leider nicht mitspielte und wir daher vom Innenhof ins Innere ziehen mussten, war das Konzept ein voller Erfolg. Zu Recht, denn auch wenn beim Kochen kein Strom erlaubt war, waren die Ergebnisse köstlich!

Das Menu

Das Team aus Spitzenköchen!
Der Hauptgang von Thomas Imbusch

Erwartet hatten wir schlichte Gerichte, doch was auf unseren Tellern serviert wurde, war genau das Gegenteil.

Das Team rund um Florian Lauert, Markus Semmler, Ben Pommer und Thomas Imbusch kombinierte Zutaten, auf die wir beim besten Willen nicht gekommen wären.

 

Das Menü
Das Menü

Ben Pommer kombinierte Kohlrabi mit Ricotta, Kresse, Bergamotte und Senfgurke.

Markus Semmler war für die Jakobsmuschel mit Largo, Pfifferlingen und Schnittlauch verantwortlich. Thomas Umbusch kreierte einen Gang aus Kartoffeln, Butter, Schnittlauch und Rinderherz.

Die Gebrüder Eggert zeichneten sich für gebratene Rübchen, Himbeeren & Dill mit Weideland verantwortlich.

Florian Glauert zauberte das Dessert aus Getreide, Honig, Rhabarber, Blüten, Mieze Schindler, Ei und Zitrone. Aber auch für Vegetarier blieb kein Wunsch offen. Dazu wurden delikate Weine gereicht, abgestimmt auf jeden Gang. Uns wurde bewusst, mit welcher Liebe zum Detail das Cooking Unplugged umgesetzt wurde, was wir sichtlich genossen!

die highlights

Das Dessert
Der Cooking Unplugged Tisch

Von Highlights zu reden ist ziemlich schwierig, schließlich war jeder Gang köstlich. Aber das Dessert hatte für uns dennoch das gewisse Etwas! Als absolute Rhabarber- und Schokoladenfans wurden wir mit einer Rhabarber-Schokosoufflé-Kreation überrascht, dekoriert mit Erdbeeren und Minze, die förmlich auf der Zunge zerging. Lecker!

Außerdem hatte das Duke die einzelnen Tische liebevoll rustikal eingedeckt und so dem Ganzen einen heimeligen Touch verliehen, was unheimlich gut zu dem Unplugged Konzept passte.

cooking unplugged – unser fazit

Der Wegweiser zu den Kochstationen
Teamgeist im Duke!

Wir fanden es toll, dass sich so ein gehobenes Restaurant wie das Duke gewagt hatte, über den Tellerrand zu schauen. Dadurch wurden neue Anregungen und Ideen geschaffen, die man auch ruhig Zuhause umsetzen kann!

Es ist nicht das letzte Mal, dass das Duke so einen speziellen Event umsetzen wird. Einfach „nur“ zu kochen, ist Florian Glauert und seinem Team nicht genug! Das zeigt sich in den zahlreichen speziellen Kochevents des Duke. Probiert es auch, es lohnt sich!

 

Author

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.